Sorority History

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority is the oldest Greek-letter organization established in America by black college women.  On January 15, 1908, Alpha Kappa Alpha was founded in the North Atlantic Region on the campus of Howard University, in Washington, D. C.  In its earliest years, Alpha Kappa Alpha became a symbol of the aspirations of able young women to develop their full potentials in an atmosphere of friendship and mutually supportive stimulation to excellence.  This tradition of achievement and service continues to characterize the sorority and its members in college and community chapters.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was founded on a mission comprised of five basic tenets that have remained unchanged since the Sorority’s inception more than a century ago. The purposes of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority are to:

  • cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards,
  • promote unity and friendship among college women,
  • study and help alleviate problems concerning girls and women in order to improve their social stature,
  • maintain a progressive interest in college life, and
  • be of “Service to All Mankind”.

As Alpha Kappa Alpha has grown, it has maintained its focus in two key arenas:

  • the lifelong personal and professional development of each of its members; and
  • galvanizing its membership into an organization of respected power and influence, consistently at the forefront of effective advocacy and social change that results in equality and equity for all citizens of the world.

To learn more about Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, visit our international website.

North Atlantic Region

Alpha Kappa Alpha is organized into ten regions with Epsilon Omicron Omega being part of the North Atlantic Region. The North Atlantic Region was established at the 1926 International Conference (Boule) in Columbus, Ohio. The first elected Regional Director was Thelma B. Boozer of Tau Omega Chapter. The first North Atlantic Regional Conference (NARC) was held on July 30, 1930, in New York City; there were ten active chapters and one inactive chapter.

The North Atlantic Region is the birthplace of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority and is noted for many other accomplishments including the:

  • place of the Sorority’s incorporation;
  • birthplace of six of the sixteen founders;
  • birthplace of J. Marjory Jackson, the composer of the National Hymn;
  • birthplace of Marjorie Parker, the Sorority’s historian;
  • site of the first national Leadership Conference; and
  • home of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Archives, established in 1978 at Howard University’s Mooreland-Springarm Research Center.

Currently, the North Atlantic Region has over 100 chapters in the following states: Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Eastern New York, Eastern Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington, DC. The North Atlantic Region is comprised of five clusters. Epsilon Omicron Omega is part of Cluster V which currently includes chapters from Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and New Hampshire.

To learn more about the North Atlantic Region, visit our regional website.