Chapter History

Epsilon Omicron Omega History

Epsilon Omicron Omega became Connecticut’s first graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated when it was chartered on May 6, 1950, by Soror Lillian M. Parrott, North Atlantic Regional Director. Under the leadership of President Marjorie Borders, the Chapter immediately began its legacy of outstanding service and public leadership. In order to increase the excellent work the Chapter was performing, the Chapter Members decided early in 1952 to take in new members. With enthusiasm, strength and pride, the chapter began a long series of Hartford firsts that propelled Alpha Kappa Alpha into the public eye as a premier service organization dedicated to helping solve the problems of women and children.

The first Health Fair in the City of Hartford was sponsored on May 11, 1953, by Epsilon Omicron Omega Chapter. Demonstrating Alpha Kappa Alpha’s commitment to high scholastic and ethical standards, one of our major contributions to the Greater Hartford Community has been the awarding of one or more scholarships annually. Since 1956, over $100,000 in scholarships has been awarded assisting students in attending Historical Black Colleges and Universities, as well as many State and Ivy League universities.

In 1977, Epsilon Omicron Omega Chapter became the proud sponsor of Lambda Tau, our “city” undergraduate chapter. Chartered by North Atlantic Regional Director Mildred Stuart, the Chapter includes the University of Hartford, Trinity College, Wesleyan University, Central and Eastern Connecticut State Universities and the University of Connecticut.

Overall, more than $275,000 has been given to community projects and scholarships. Two North Atlantic Regional Conferences have been hosted—1961, 1983. The Chapter has also co-hosted North Atlantic Regional Conferences in 1992, 2002, 2007, 2012 and 2016. Epsilon Omicron Omega has been actively engaged in (1) supporting the efforts of community agencies in helping to solve the problems of human rights, (2) encouraging high standards of education, and (3) sponsoring events for the improvement of health, arts and welfare. In 1994, approval was given for the establishment of the Foundation for Educational Opportunities, a non-profit organization which has enabled the chapter to give even more to the community.


Catherine Barlow (Alpha)
Marjorie D. Borders* (Alpha), President
Ella G. Brown* (Alpha Epsilon)
Bernice U. Cobb* (Alpha Epsilon)
Mary J. Cromwell* (Beta Chi), Treasurer
Dolores B. Davis (Sigma)
Joyce D. Elliott* (Epsilon), Correspondence Secretary
Ethel N. Hale* (Nu)
Lillian M. Harris (Alpha Epsilon)
Gertrude Montgomery Rivers* (Zeta)
Jean N. Morris (Beta Gamma)
Margaret Shaw* (Gamma Rho Omega), Vice President
Winnie H. Troutman* (Beta Alpha)
Allenstine S. Willis (Gamma Delta), Recording Secretary
Beatrice Wood* (Alpha), Ivy Leaf Reporter